2013 Environmental Awareness award nominations sought

The State of South Carolina’s top honor for stewardship of the natural world will be
awarded again soon and sponsoring agencies are putting out a call for your
nominations. The Environmental Awareness Award recognizes South Carolinians who
are doing extraordinary work on behalf of our environment. Nominations will be
accepted through Jan. 31, 2014.
Each year the public is invited to submit nominations to the awards committee. This committee is made up of representatives from the state’s natural resource agencies, including the South Carolina Forestry Commission, the Department of Health and Environmental Control, the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium and the S.C. Department of Natural Resources. The requirements are high. Candidates should demonstrate innovation
and leadership. His or her accomplishments will have led to positive change or
may have influenced matters affecting the natural environment.
Chairman and Treasurer for the Conestee Foundation, Thomas Kester, was
recognized for the 2012 award for his volunteer efforts as part of the Foundation to acquire an old mill lakebed and turn it into a wildlife refuge and nature park for public use.
Chances are you or someone you know is working hard on behalf of the environment everyday and should be recognized like Mr. Kester.  The nomination form along with application guidelines and a brief history of the award can be found at: http://www.dnr.sc.gov/news/scenvironawareaward.html.
For more information contact DNR’s Vivianne Vejdani at (803) 734-4199 or VejdaniV@dnr.sc.gov.
The S.C. General Assembly established the S.C. Environmental Awareness Award in 1992. It’s now in its 21th year recognizing outstanding contributions made toward the
protection, conservation, and improvement of South Carolina’s natural resources.

Past recent winners include:
2011 – Dr. Patricia J. DeCoursey, Professor of Biological Sciences at USC
2010 – Frank S. Holleman, III, President, Naturaland Trust
2009 – Dr. Fred Holland, Coastal Ecologist, Charleston
2008 – Benjamin Ziegler, Chairman, Pee Dee Land Trust
2007 – Dr. Richard Porcher, Jr., Professor Emeritus, The Citadel
2006 – Rick Huffman, Founder, South Carolina Native Plant Society

This entry was posted in Our Blog Articles. Bookmark the permalink.